Sailor of the Year 2019 Recap

The Navy League of the United States - Honolulu Council held their annual Sailor of the Year Event on March 21st, 2019.  

Adm. John C. Aquilino, commander of U.S. Pacific Fleet (PACFLT), announced Interior Communications Electrician 1st Class (SW/AW) Nicholas W. Natelli as 2018 Sea Sailor of the Year (SOY) and Logistics Specialist 1st Class (AW/SW) Sindy M. Johnson as the 2018 Shore SOY during a ceremony at the Ala Moana Hotel in Waikiki, March 21.

Prior to announcing the winners, Aquilino commended all 16 nominees for their hard work and dedication.

"These Sailors standing before you represent the best of the Pacific Fleet," said Aquilino. "Their toughness, initiative, accountability and integrity set an example for all of us, and show why our Sailors make us the greatest Navy in the world. The strength, skill and fighting spirit of our young men and women should keep our adversaries up at night."

The Sea SOY finalists were: Navy Diver 1st Class (DWS/EXW) Kristoph S. Carey, SEAL Delivery Vehicle Team 1; Hospital Corpsman 1st Class (FMF) Wilfred C. Flores, 1st Medical Battalion; Information Systems Technician 1st Class (IW/AW) Emily L. Guidangen, Expeditionary Strike Group (ESG) 3; Electrician’s Mate (Nuclear) 1st Class (SS) Ryan P. Helms, USS Key West (SSN 722); Master-at-Arms 1st Class (EXW/SW) Brian D. Hughes, Coastal Riverine Squadron (CRS) THREE; Electrician’s Mate 1st Class (SW/IW) Timothy R. Phillips, Naval Special Warfare Group 3; Legalman 1st Class (SW/AW/IW) Ryan L. Pickens, Commander Carrier Strike Group 5; and Logistics Specialist 1st Class (AW) Ryan R. Schick, Navy Flight Demonstration Squadron.

The Shore SOY finalists were: Hospital Corpsman 1st Class (SS/FMF) Matthew S. Biecker, Commander, Submarine Force, U.S. Pacific Fleet; Legalman 1st Class (AW) Rebecca S. Duclayan, Commander, Logistics Group Western Pacific; Cryptologic Technician (Technical) 1st Class (IW/SW) Mandi T. Hadleyecklund, Commander, U.S. 3rd Fleet; Musician 1st Class (SW/SG/IW) Stephen F. Hux, U.S. 7th Fleet Band; Equipment Operator 1st Class (SCW/EXW) David M. Marler, Naval Construction Group 1; and Damage Controlman 1st Class (SW) Dustin J. Parks, Afloat Training Group Western Pacific.

The Sailor of the Year program was initiated by Adm. Elmo Zumwalt in 1972 as he sought to recognize outstanding Atlantic and Pacific Fleet Sailors at sea. The Shore Sailor of the Year program was introduced in 1973.

Congratulations to the PACFLT Sailors of the Year, Council Executive Director, Jane Ferreira, President, Larry Osborn, and the Navy League Community partners for another great Navy League event.

 Enjoy the photos, click here!